facebook twitterflickrblogger





83 Park Street, Suite 5

Providence, RI 02903 USA
tel: 401/861-4445
401/490-6735 (f)


Mailing Address:

PO Box 162

Newport, RI 02840 USA

Street Address:

36 Rhode Island Avenue,

Newport, RI 02840 USA



RIIFF Photography

Courtesy of Mike Braca


Video Promotions by

Eric Latek, George T. Marshall, Shawn Quirk, Timothy Haggerty & Duncan Putney






Help Support The Festival




Download our Mobile App.

cell app.



2007 Viola M. Marshall Audience Choice Awards

This year's Audience Choice Awards saw a record number of ballots submitted: 3,527. Principal Festival venues were located throughout the city of Providence. In order to insure fairness for all filmmakers, only first-run locations were able to vote for the Audience Choice.


momThe Awards are named after the late Viola M. Marshall who was not only an artist, but an active supporter of the arts. A founding member of the Flickers Arts Collaborative, which created and produces the Rhode Island International Film Festival, Mrs. Marshall strongly believed in the power of the arts to change lives and inspire new generations. An avid filmgoer, Mrs. Marshall loved the cinema and considered it an art form long before it became fashionable. There is no question that Mrs. Marshall was a guiding spirit behind the success of the Film Festival and it is her philosophy which has become a central to the mission of RIIFF: the filmmakers are the stars!


To read more about Viola M. Marshall and why we honor her with these awards, please click here...


This year’s RIIFF winners are as follows:


Viola M. Marshall Audience Choice Awards

Best Documentary

Grand Prize:

"From the 50 Yard Line" (Doug Lantz, Director) USA

1st Place:

"Italian Americans and Federal Hill" (Jon Raben, Director) USA


Best Feature

Grand Prize:

"Body/Antibody" (Kerry Douglas Dye, Jordan Hoffman, Directors) USA

First Place:

“Her Best Move” (Norm Hunter, Director) USA


Best Short

Grand Prize:

"Driftwood" (Michelle Steffes, Director) USA

1st Place:

“The Strange Case of Marie France” (Till Newmann, Director; Vin Fraioli, Frank Miele & Adam McClelland, Producers) USA



Tabulating the ballots for the 2007 Viola M. Marshall Audience Choice Awards.